Monday, December 23, 2013

Research partnership with the European Union highlighted in the AfricaRice Annual Report

For more than two decades, the European Union (EU) and AfricaRice have enjoyed a rewarding partnership to help improve food security, reduce poverty and protect the environment in Africa. Examples of EU-funded programs and projects are highlighted in AfricaRice’s 2012 annual report, which is now available.

The Report also features Africa-wide Agronomy Task Force, convened by AfricaRice, which is closely linked with the Center’s innovative approach to achieve development impacts at scale – the Rice Sector Development Hub network.

Other features include advances in rice research for development activities in Africa relating to new technologies, options for mechanized weed control, improving water control in inland valleys, developing facilities for phenotyping and building rural enterprises in Central Africa.

The forging of new strategic partnerships, launch of several large donor-supported projects, sustained policy and advocacy efforts and wide recognition through prestigious international and national awards are also highlighted.

Saturday, December 14, 2013

AfricaRice and its partners pay tribute to Nelson Mandela

Delegates and participants of the 29th Ordinary Session of the AfricaRice Council of Ministers held in N’Djamena, Chad, 10-11 December 2013, took some time off from the meeting to express their feelings on the passing away of Nelson Mandela.

Speakers in the video (in order of appearance)
  • Adama Traoré, Director General-Interim, AfricaRice
  • Hon. Moussa Mahamat Agrey, Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation, Chad
  • Hon. Bruno Jean Richard Itoua, Minister of Scientific Research, Republic of Congo
  • Hon. Papa Abdoulaye Seck, Ministre de l’Agriculture et de l’équipement rural, Senegal
  • Hon. Ruth Nankabirwa, Minister of State for Fisheries, Uganda
  • Yte Wongbe, Directeur général, Centre National de Recherche Agronomique (CNRA), Côte d'Ivoire
  • Grégoire Bani, Directeur général, Centre de recherche agricole de Loudima (CRAL), République du Congo
  • Ramadjita Tabo, Deputy Executive Director, Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA), Ghana
  • Famoï Béavogui, Directeur général, Institut de Recherche Agronomique de Guinée (IRAG), Guinea
  • Aaron Marshall, Director General, Central Agricultural Research Institute (CARI), Liberia
  • Bruno Rakotomahefa, Directeur général, Technique, Ministère de l'Agriculture, Madagascar
  • Bourema Dembelé, Directeur général, Institut d'Economie Rurale (IER), Mali
  • Alioune Fall, Directeur général, Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles (ISRA), Sénégal
  • Aboubakar Njoya, Directeur des Programmes, Conseil Ouest et Centre Africain pour la Recherche et le Développement Agricoles (CORAF/WECARD), Senegal
  • Djondang Koye, Directeur Scientifique, Institut Tchadien de Recherche Agronomique pour le Développement (ITRAD), Tchad
  • Atsu Comlan Agbobli, Directeur général, Institut Togolais de Recherche Agricole (ITRA), Togo